be reasonable!

Peggy Noonan is looking for one thing in the next election. And Hillary Clinton isn’t it.

Hillary Clinton? No, not reasonable. I concede her sturdy mind, deep sophistication, and seriousness of intent. I see her as a triangulator like her husband, not a radical but a maneuverer in the direction of a vague, half-forgotten but always remembered, leftism. It is also true that she has a command-and-control mentality, an urgent, insistent and grating sense of destiny, and she appears to believe that any act that benefits Clintons is a virtuous act, because Clintons are good and deserve to be benefited.

But this is not, actually, my central problem with her candidacy. My central problem is that the next American president will very likely face another big bad thing, a terrible day, or days, and in that time it will be crucial–crucial–that our nation be led by a man or woman who can be, at least for the moment and at least in general, trusted. Mrs. Clinton is the most dramatically polarizing, the most instinctively distrusted, political figure of my lifetime. Yes, I include Nixon. Would she be able to speak the nation through the trauma? I do not think so. And if I am right, that simple fact would do as much damage to America as the terrible thing itself.

One Response to be reasonable!

  1. izzy99 says:

    I am not a Party person and did register Democrat this year to vote in the Primary. I was rather shocked that she is getting so many votes, simply by bringing a known liar to office with her. My non-support came from her deaf ear to Code Pink pleas to use her influence to end the war in Iraq. Seeing her lie, double talk, steal opponents ideas and pass them off as her own, bash Senator Obama mainly accusing him of her misdeeds got me to thinking “Tricky Dick” the other week.

    That prompted me to contact the DNC. I already know I will vote for Cynthia McKinney in November if Hillary gets the Dem bid, because she is a Bush clone and might as well be a Republican in what we can expect in 2009 if either them or her wins. I also thanked Senator Kennedy for speaking the truth about her in his endorsement of Obama, but told him that he could not count on my loyalty to Democrat’s if she is the nomination.

    If she had been disqualified from the race due to her association with an 1/2 impeached ex President, some of the dropouts might have had a shot at the bid. I might have voted for Kucinich for instance. Obama is a decent second choice for me. I found Edwards a bit too much like Clinton in his Health Care plan, but find him and some others acceptable on the Dem side.

    “command-and-control mentality” is why I call her a Bush clone. I have had enough of that and could not survive should she be elected as our next Pres. I found Rudy to have that same mentality.

Leave a Reply

