semper infidelis

“Gee, now it was probably 19 years ago – in 1975. I decided that I was very interested in having some experience in serving in some capacity in the military. So I walked into our local recruiting office, and I think it was just my bad luck that the person who happened to be there on duty could not have been older than 21. He was in perfect physical shape. I wanted to explore – I didn’t know whether I thought active duty would be a good idea, reserve, you know, maybe National Guard, something along those lines. This young man looked at me and he said, ‘How old are you?’

I said, ‘Well, 27’ … I had these really thick glasses on.

He said, ‘How bad’s your eyesight?’

I said, ‘It’s pretty bad.’ And he said, ‘How bad?’ So I told him.

He said, ‘That’s pretty bad.’ And he finally said to me, he said: ‘You’re too old. You can’t see. And you’re a woman.’ And then he went on … this man, young man, was a Marine. He said, ‘But maybe the dogs [Army] would take you.'”

Leave a Reply

